What You Wished You Knew Once Upon a Time

I often forget how much of a greenhorn in public information I am. Last week I posted on conducting media management using social media and one of my favorite crisis communications heroes left a comment that reminded me of it. (In the nicest possible way, of course.)

Whenever I feel like a newbie, I head back to these posts by Denise Graveline, of the Don’t Get Caught blog. She’s now had two posts geared towards new communicators as they start in the business, and I love them. I wish I could contribute something, but honestly, I continue to find myself on the learning side of that equation.

Some of the best are as follows:

  • Ask for–or go get–training and development on a regular basis.
  • Don’t get sucked into the cubicle.
  • Be bold.
  • Decide what you don’t need to learn.

Be sure to check out the posts: For the Rookie Public Information Officer, and Advice for the Rising Communicator, and please leave your best tips (consider they’re for me too!) in the comments.

