2013 Retrospective: Week One, Guest Posts

Things are changing around here, and I wanted to highlight the best of the blog during December, 2013. The first week is devoted to my favorite guest posts and posters. The second week is devoted to my three most engaging posts. The third and fourth weeks count down my top six most trafficked posts, truly, the best of the best. These overview posts will have links to each of the posts for the week.

Stay tuned to all of my posts for the rest of the week as I highlight three of my absolute favorite guest posts. It’s really tough to hand over the reins of something you’ve poured your life into for the last three plus years and kinda hope for the best. And my guest posters have never disappointed me. Offering truly innovative posts and best-in-the-business writers talking about topics that changed the world, or changed the face of how emergencies are responded to, the three posts I’m highlighting this week are truly excellent. Interestingly, two of the guest posts are part of their own series; the story was too big to tell all at once. Be sure to click through and see the whole story.

First up, we’re talking about a massive storm that engulfed Scotland, and how the Scotch public collectively fought back.
Secondly, PIO Marcus Deyerin gives us a riveting, first-hand account of being the primary information responder at the I-5 Skagit Bridge Collapse.
Finally, we turn to APHL’s Executive Director, Scott Becker, as he looks back to September 11th and that horrible Fall.

